The Next Big Thing

My friend and fellow author, Maria Savva, was kind enough to tag me in a challenge called The Next Big Thing.  As this gives me an excuse to write, I owe her a ‘thank you’ for extending the invitation. :)

The rules of the challenge are:

  1. Answer 10 questions about my current WIP (Work-In-Progress)
  2.  Tag five other writers and link their blogs so we can all hop over and read their answers.

The questions are:

  1. What is the working title of your book?
  2. Where did the idea come from for the book?
  3. What genre does your book fall under?
  4. Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?
  5. What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?
  6. Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?
  7. How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?
  8. What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?
  9. Who or What inspired you to write this book?
  10. What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

This is going to be fun!  So here are my answers:

1.  My upcoming novel is called, ‘Rise of the Shadow’.  I won’t say that is a ‘working title’ as I am 99% certain about it.  Previously it was going to be called ‘Blackstone’ after a character that was going to be in it, however my story has completely changed now – for the better, I hope.

2.  Oddly enough, the idea for this book came from my previous two books.  There were simply too many loose ends that I felt needed to be explained – plus I knew I could have some fun exploring a couple of minor characters from the first two books.

3.  Genre:  Unfortunately, since dragons have not decided to show themselves in real life, this book would be categorized as ‘fantasy’.

4.  Who would play my characters in a movie?  Sadly, I have given this a LOT of thought – as I find that when I am writing, I actually picture the characters in my mind’s eye.  As a result, I draw from television and movies to ‘cast’ my novels as it where so they can take place in my imagination while I am striving to get the words on the page.  So here they are, in no particular order:

Dame Judi Dench, would play Ms. Hoskins

John Rhys-Davies would be perfect as Acamar Wycroft

 

Alfred Molina would excel as Alexander Ducat

Catherine Zeta Jones would be cast as Nisha Black

Ian McShane would voice Nekk’ar, the dragon spirit

Benedict Cumberbatch would play Keegan Whitestone

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5.  A one sentence synopsis of my book is:  How do you stop a murder, five-thousand years in the past?

6.  To quote my friend, Maria Savva, “I am self publishing this book.  Indie authors are the best!”  Besides, I’m just not sure the mainstream publishers are quite up to my standards. ;)

7.  How long did it take?  Well, I’m not done yet, if that tells you anything.  I started writing in earnest about April, and it is now August and I’m done with eight chapters.  My hope is to have it finished, edited and polished by January 2013. (fingers crossed)

8.  I would compare this to ‘The Ring of Solomon’ by Jonathan Stroud, I think.  Although with the dragons and other magical elements, they could probably be compared with the ‘Harry Potter’ or ‘Eragon’ series as well.

9.  Although I thought I wanted to continue the series with a third book, I must credit my friend, Maria Savva, for helping push me over the proverbial edge, as it were.  In her review and comments on book two ‘Bloodstone – The Guardian’s Curse’, she commented that she felt the ending left open the possibility for a third book.  When I read her review, that comment reaffirmed to me that a third book was needed to wrap everything up.

10.  In this novel, you will learn much more about the mild mannered caretaker, Ms. Hoskins.  You will also learn the origins of the most feared necromancer to ever walk the Earth.

Okay, here are the 5 authors who I would like to challenge:

1.  Joel Kirkpatrick

2.  Lindsay Buroker

3.  Maeve Greyson

4.  R J McDonnell

5.  Al Boudreau

5 Responses to “The Next Big Thing”

  1. LOL, I love your answers, Michael, and now I’ve seen the cast of characters, I want to see the film! :) My favourite quote: “I’m just not sure the mainstream publishers are quite up to my standards”, closely followed by: “since dragons have not decided to show themselves in real life, this book would be categorized as ‘fantasy’.” Idris would be proud!

  2. It sounds so good. I like your choices of ‘stars’, especially Benedict Cumberbatch, except maybe Catherine Zeta Jones, but it’s definitely a man’s view. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,925 other followers

